CBHS President, Teachers honored at Diocesan Professional Day

More than a dozen members of the CBHS faculty and staff were honored at the annual Diocese of Memphis Department of Education Professional Day, held Oct. 5 at Christian Brothers High School. Janet Donato, Superintendent of Catholic Schools, presented the awards.

Brother Chris Englert, FSC, president of CBHS, received the Christ the Teacher Award, presented to an administrator who is an outstanding example of Christ-like leadership. Brother Chris also received the 30 Years of Service Award.

Dr. Justin Whitmer, science and engineering teacher, received the St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Award, given to a teacher in the Diocese of Memphis who has designed and successfully implemented a teaching technique in the classroom.

Whitney Shelton, math teacher and swimming/water polo coach, was awarded the St. Sebastian Exemplary Coaching Award for being a coach who exhibits an attitude of Christian sportsmanship and maintains high expectations for Christian behavior from players.

CBHS faculty and staff receiving Years of Service Awards included:
  • Dr. Jeff Blancett (20 years)
  • Richard Branyan (20 years)
  • Marcello Donato (20 years)
  • Nancy Haynie (20 years)
  • Br. Phil Jones  (20 years)
  • Scott Gray (25 years)
  • Tonia Klumph (25 years)
  • Jennifer McConnell (25 years)
  • Don Whittington (25 years)
  • Br. Chris Englert, FSC (30 years)